CD Review Directory Mott the Dog's CD Collection

Mott the Dog's review on...

Ian Hunter - Ian Hunter

Review: 001
Date: 2 Jan 01


Rating: 5 Stars

Musicians: n/a

Tracks Listing:
1. Once Bitten Twice Shy
2. Who Do You Love
3. Lounge Lizzard
4. Boy
5. 3000 Miles From Here
6. The Truth The Whole Truth and
     Nuthin’ But The Truth
7. It Ain’t Easy When You Fall
8. Shades Off
9. I Get So Excited


This excellent album from 1975 comes across like a live set. Ian Hunter joins together with ex David Bowie axe man Mick Ronson to create a blistering Rock ‘n’ Roll album, brushing aside the mourning of the recently demised Mott the Hoople, who Hunter had fronted for the past five years.

The album commences with the classic “Once Bitten Twice Shy” with the Hunter trademark “Allo”. This was a worldwide hit single for Ian, then later covered by Great White and taken to the top of the U.S. charts, this is followed in rapid succession by two funky rockers about life on the road.

Closing what in the days of vinyl was the last trackside one is “Boy”, probably the most emotional song Ian had written to that point, warning the Rock generation of the perils of the high life, probably dedicated to David Bowie, Ariel Bender or you. “3000 Miles From Here” is a wonderfully tongue in cheek ode to groupies.

From here on its power/Rock ‘n’ Roll with Geoff Applby/Bass, Peter Arnesen/Keyboards and Dennis Elliot later of Foreigner/Drums laying down a rock steady beat for Hunter & Ronson to throw down their wares. There’s a brief respite while Hunter lays his soul bare with “Shades Off” until Ronson comes crashing back into to take you hurtling along the tracks like a runaway express train to the end of the aptly titled “I Get So Excited”.

This album contains some of the best songs ever written by Ian Hunter and the guitar playing of the sadly departed Mick Ronson is terrific through out.


Pawed by Mott The Dog
Remastered by Ella Crew


Back to Top


[an error occurred while processing this directive]