CD Review Directory Mott the Dog's CD Collection

Mott the Dog's review on....

Roger Waters - In the Flesh

Review: 014
Date: 3 Mar 01


Rating: 0 Stars

Musicians: n/a

The Carnage Track Listing:
Disc I
1. In The Flesh
2. The Happiest Days Of Our Lives
3. Another Brick In The Wall, Part 2
4. Mother
5. Get Your Filthy Hands Off My
6. Southampton Dock
7. Pigs On The Wing, Part 2
8. Dogs
9. Welcome To The Machine
10. Wish You Were Here
11. Shine On You Crazy Diamond
      (Parts 1-8)
12. Set The Controls For The Heart
      Of The Sun

Disc II
1. Breathe (In The Air)
2. Time
3. Money
4. The Pros And Cons Of Hitch Hiking
     Part 11 (Aka 5:06 AM - Every
     Stranger’s Eyes)

5. Perfect Sense (Parts I and II)
6. The Bravery Of Being Out Of Range
7. It’s A Miracle
8. Amused To Death
9. Brain Damage
10. Eclipse
11. Comfortably Numb
12. Each Small Candle


Do we really need another double live collection of old Pink Floyd songs? No, we jolly well don’t, especially when it’s done as badly as this appalling collection.

This is a complete waste of perfectly good plastic, metal, and paper. (Yes, even the artwork and sleve notes are dire).

The music starts off with a collection of cover version sounding songs from Pink Floyd's “The Wall” (a great version of which was only released last year as a double live C.D  “Is There Anybody Out There” with the original band). Then, after a couple of tunes from Pink Floyd's worst album “The Final Cut”, things really take a turn for the worse when the band trip into “Pigs On The Wing” from “the Animals” album. This version needs a musical Zimmerman to keep it stuttering along for sixteen turgid minutes. Worse is to follow. Roger Waters then deciding to desecrate holy ground by taking on songs from the album “WishYou Were Here”. After the song “Wish Your Were Here” Roger Waters tells the crowd “They wish they were here”. Well, I’m quite sure Mr. Gilmour, Wright and Mason, were glad to be anywhere, as long as they were not associated with this racket. 

Then the band attempt “Shine On You Crazy Diamond”. This is when this Dog had to cover his ears with his paws. Snowy White, the bands lead guitarist, should be truly ashamed.

As for Andy Fairweather Lowes involvement with this road band, well, “Wide Eyed and Legless” indeed.

Incredibly things get worse on Disc Two with Roger Waters torturing the crowd with songs from his unsuccessful solo career, before rumbling through a few old Pink Floyd cornerstones to thankfully bring it to a close.

But, no, we have to suffer once more as tacked onto the end is “The New Song”. It’s not important to review it, it’s just rubbish, and explains why Roger Waters can only tour these days as a glorified cabaret act.

If you want to hear real Pink Floyd go out and find the double C.D “Pulse” from 1995 which goes to prove that Pink Floyd are the only band in space.

To sum up the worst thing about Roger Waters “In the Flesh” is that it’s over 2 excruciating hours long. This C.D deserves no star rating and a warning sticker that it could damage your ears. Best forgotten and definitely not a classic.


Pawed by Mott The Dog
Remastered by Ella Crew


Back to Top


[an error occurred while processing this directive]