CD Review Directory Mott the Dog's CD Collection

Mott the Dog's review on....

Peter Banks - Instinct

Review: 019
Date: 9 Apr 01


Rating: 5 Stars for               contest
              5 Star for               presentation

Musicians: n/a

Tracks Listing:
1. No Place Home
2. All Points South
3. Fogbound
4. Sticky Wicket
5. Short Comings
6. Code Blue
7. Angels
8. Animal Mundi
9. Swamp Report
10. Instinctive Behavior
11. Dominating Factor
12. Never The Same

Other CD’s by Peter Banks 
1. Self Contained
2. Reduction 
3. Two Sides of Peter Banks
4. Can I Play You Something


This superb, but alarmingly underrated guitarist has a fine pedigree, first coming to notice in the mid sixties in a wonderful flower power band call “Syn” with a certain Chris Squires on bass, then joined by vocalist Jon Anderson they became the marvelously monikered “Mabel Greer’s Toy Shop”, finding this a bit of a mouthful, and with the addition of Toy Kaye on keyboards & Bill Bruford on drums, they found instant international acclaim as “Yes”.

Two wonderful albums followed “Yes” and “Time and a Word” at this point Peter Banks was booted out, due to his ambitions of entertaining an audience rather than trying to educate them. (it was at this point that Mott became a fan, always wanting to have fun and cowering from education.) To this day, Yes guitarist Steve Howe, and Trevor Rabin have made a career out of copying Bank’s trademark guitar licks.

Peter Banks went on to form “Flash” who released 3 respectable albums, once described as “Yes music played by Thunder and Lightning”, before being swamped by bad management and punk rock. After spending the eighties mainly in session work and looking for suitable musicians to work with, Peter Banks went solo in the nineties with this enchanting album “Instinct”.

From the opening rippling guitar chords of opening cut “No Place Home” to the final bell which closes the album your ears are held in thrall by this maestro of the six string.

An Instrumental album, it always holds your attention by it’s diversity and humour. (you will have to listen to the music to get that.)

Satriani, Vai, and Co would give their eye teeth to put out such a fine collection of fretwork and tunes.

The two central passages are track 4, “Sticky Wickets” played on a midi guitar synthesizer, which starts sout funky, and then turns itself inside out to reach a shattering climax.

Before you have time to push the repeat button Banks is off again with track 5, “Short Comings” totally tasteless and not at all Jazzy with a relentless four in the bar bass drum, the night of a thousand guitars with Peter Banks the fastest guitar slinger in town.

The final track is “Never The Same” a moving tribute to Peter Banks’s late mother. Never has such a beautiful piece of music been played on the electric guitar.

If you hear this music, like me I’m sure you will be mystified why Peter Banks is not an international star.

The album cover and the inside sleeve notes are worth the price of the C.D alone so you cannot lose.

Dogs have superb instinct, trust this dogs instinct, and add this “Instinct” to you collection, you won’t regret it.


Pawed by Mott The Dog
Remastered by Ella Crew


Back to Top


[an error occurred while processing this directive]